The Red Door Inn
A Brief History
The story of the Red Door Inn begins in 1800 with noted Yale Alumnus Timothy Field's arrival in Canandaigua, NY. On the recommendation of Yale President T. Dwight IV, Timothy Field was invited to become pastor of a congregation that had recently been organized in town. On February 27, 1800, Reverend Timothy Field was ordained as the first pastor of the Congregational Church of Canandaigua. He built a stately Federal style home at what is now 439 North Main Street. More than 200 years later, this home would become The Red Door Inn.
Throughout the 1800's the surrounding forty acres of land were developed into a flourishing farm that included a vineyard and an orchard of apple, cherry, pear, quince, and plum trees. The Red Door Inn would eventually become home to several prominent citizens including distinguished businessman James Sibley, Reverend Evan Johns, influential author and activist Max Eastman, and attorney Hobart Himes.
In 2005, Kevin and Kathryn Carson purchased the home with plans to restore it to its original grandeur and create a bed and breakfast. Their labor has produced the blend of historic allure and modern luxury that define The Red Door Inn.